Oppose SB 1993

March 25

ACTION

Contact the members of the Senate Natural Resources & Economic Development Committee to OPPOSE SB 1993.

Hearing: 9:00 am Wednesday, March 27 at 1100 Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78701, likely in room E1.012

Suggest text:

My name is {name} and I am a Texan who lives in {town/district}.  I am calling [senator] to urge him/her to vote NO on Senate Bill SB1993. The proposed bill threatens free speech, a basic right in our democracy. If passed, the bill would criminalize our constitutionally protected right to protest. There are already laws against trespassing and vandalism: it is clear that this law is specifically designed to prevent free speech of advocacy organizations. Please vote NO on SB 1993!

Senate Natural Resources & Economic Development Committee Members:
Brian Birdwell (Chair -R – Grandbury) 512.463.0122 or brian.birdwell@senate.texas.gov
Judith Zaffirini (Vice Chair – D- Laredo) 512.463.0121 or judith.zaffirini@senate.texas.gov
Pat Fallon (R-Frisco) 512.463.0130 or pat.fallon@senate.texas.gov
Peter Flores (R- Pleasanton) 512.463.0119 or peter.flores@senate.texas.gov
Kelly Hancock (R-N.Richland Hills) 512.463.0109 or kelly.hancock@senate.texas.gov
Juan Hinojosa (D-McAllen) 512.463.0120 or juan.hinojosa@senate.texas.gov
Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola) 512.463-0101 or bryan.hughes@senate.texas.gov
Borris Miles – (D-Houston) 512.463.0113 or borris.miles@senate.texas.gov
Angela Paxton – (R-McKinney) 512.463.0108 or angela.paxton@senate.texas.gov
Beverly Powell- (D-Ft. Worth) 512.463.0110 or beverly.powell@senate.texas.gov
Jose Rodriguez – (D-El Paso) 512.463.0129 or jose.rodriguez@senate.texas.gov

BACKGROUND

If approved, the new law would have a terrifying chilling effect on our constitutional right to protest. The law is modeled after draft legislation promoted heavily by the ultra-right-wing American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC), and turns peaceful protest into felonies punishable by upwards of 20 years in prison with fines upwards of $10,000 for individuals, and liabilities for organizations involved in protests up to 100 times that penalty.  For example: under this proposed law, if an individual involved in a protest temporarily impeded workers’ ability to access a pipeline construction site, any organization involved in the protest could be face fines of $1,000,000 or more!

Bill text:
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/86R/billtext/html/SB01993I.htm

More info here:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Rh_UiirQO3Ajh5v_gaSArMfXjH_Yr3JKqhB0tXh40Ss/mobilebasic#id.lpqhkf8dv1uxa